Hans Müller wins 2017 Noether Award

1/17/17: We are very pleased to announce that Distinguished Professor Hans-Georg Müller has won the Gottfried E. Noether Senior Scholar Award for 2017.

Distinguished Professor Jane-Ling WangThis prestigious award is presented alongside the Noether Junior Scholar Award by the American Statistical Association, and carries an endowment fund to recognize distinguished researchers and teachers and to support research in the field of nonparametric statistics. The Noether Awards were established in 1999 as a tribute to Gottfried Emanuel Noether, a leading scholar in nonparametric statistics with interests in research and teaching, who died in 1991.

The Noether Senior Scholar Award is presented annually to a distinguished senior researcher/teacher in nonparametric statistics. The recipient is also invited to deliver a special lecture. Last year, the award was given to another distinguished professer in the UC Davis Statistics Department, Jane-Ling Wang. This reaffirms that our department is a world leader in the important and broad field of nonparametric statistics.

You can find out more about the Gottfried E. Noether Award, as well as the list of previous winners, on the ASA website: http://www.amstat.org/awards/gottfriednoetherawards.cfm.

This is another well deserved honor to add to Hans' long list of impressive achievements. Congratulations Hans!


Index of Statistics News Items