Faculty Honors and Awards

2020 CAMPOS faculty scholar: Assistant Professor Jairo Fúquene Patiño

September 04, 2020

We are pleased to announce that our new Assistant Professor of Statistics, Jairo Fúquene Patiño, has been recognized as a 2020 CAMPOS faculty scholar by the UC Davis Center for the Advancement of Multicultural Perspectives on Science, or CAMPOS. The center focuses on building diversity in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Jane-Ling Wang wins Humboldt Research Award

May 11, 2020

We are very pleased to announce that Distinguished Professor Jane-Ling Wang has been named as the recipient of the prestigious Humboldt Research Award, by the Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung/Foundation. This was awarded in recognition of Jane-Ling's academic achievements.


You can learn more about the Humboldt Research Award, as well as see a list of its winners from many fields, at: https://www.humboldt-foundation.de/web/humboldt-award.html.

Jiming Jiang & Thomas Lee Elected as 2019 AAAS Fellows!

November 26, 2019

Congratulations to our colleagues Jiming and Thomas for being among the leading scientists elected as 2019 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They are in a group of ten fellows from UC Davis. AAAS Fellows are honored for their invaluable contributions to science and technology.

You can see the full list here: https://www.aaas.org/news/aaas-announces-leading-scientists-elected-2019-fellows

Xiaodong Li receives NSF Career Award 2019

August 02, 2019

We are pleased to announce that Assistant Professor Xiaodong Li won the NSF Career Award in 2019. His award is titled "Statistical Analysis of Nonconvex Optimization in Unsupervised Learning."

Congratulations, Dr. Li!

Ethan Anderes receives Distinguished Teaching Award

June 06, 2019

We are pleased to announce that Professor Ethan Anderes has been selected to receive the College of Letters and Science Award for Distinguished Teaching for AY 2018-19.  Congratulations Professor Anderes!

Debashis Paul named IMS Fellow

April 22, 2019

We are pleased to announce that Professor Debashis Paul has been named among the 2019 Fellows of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS). Many congratulations to Debashis on receiving this well-deserved honor!

Hao Chen wins NSF CAREER Award

February 16, 2019

We are very pleased to announce that Assistant Professor Hao Chen has been awarded the prestigious NSF CAREER award. Her award is titled "New Change-Point Problems in Analyzing High-Dimensional and Non-Euclidean Data". 

Congratulations, Prof. Chen!